how tacky

as much as i hate the cold and snow (and i do, trust me), there is one related thing that gets me in the mood for the christmas holiday season.

tacky christmas sweaters.

i don’t know how this phenomenon came up. i’d like to know if it is popular in other countries? is it popular over the whole united states or just in certain regions? regardless of spread or origin– tacky sweaters have become a staple of my christmas celebrations.

and it’s not just me looking for christmas sweaters. thrift stores can’t keep them in stock. even shopping malls will stock up on them during the winter months hoping someone will pay full price for a sweater with a reindeer sewn across the front. sorry, younkers, but $50 is a bit ridiculous. even if it is the most hideous sweater i’ve ever seen with light up christmas wreaths.

snowmen, santa claus, little elves… i can’t get enough.

lucky for me, my mom has kept one little number throughout the years. it’s a vest. a christmas vest… and it’s uber-petite, it’s short on me and i’m 5’3″. it’s a blue color, similar to regular jeans, and on each side it’s oh-so-tactfully decorated with santa and snowmen and other holiday cheer. my mom won’t admit she still likes it, she claims to have just saved it for me for all of my parties… but i found it in her closet the first time i wore it and would like to think she was just waiting for cold enough weather so she could wear it herself.

sure, there are other things that get me in the christmas spirit. as much as i do hate (piles and piles of) snow, the first snowfall of the year is breathtakingly beautiful. i’m still very much like a child in the sense that i try to catch snowflakes on my tongue and pretend to smoke when it’s really cold, making my breath look like the smoke. i will occassionally make a snow angel. i will drink hot chocolate and some milk nog (egg nog is too rich, how can people do that?). i will wrap christmas presents, admire people’s holiday decorations, and hang out and appreciate my family and friends.

and, if i’m lucky, i’ll be doing all of that in my tacky christmas sweater(vest).

3 responses to “how tacky

  1. I have a friend who will go searching for the tackiest Christmas sweaters. If they’re not tacky enough, she won’t buy them.

  2. I love tacky sweater parties!

Leave a Reply

